Blog-trotting

I have spent the past month blogging away partially oblivious to what my counterparts were doing.  So this morning I had an epiphany – why not read what other Libyan bloggers (or bloggers in Libya) have/had to say about stocking up on food for Ramadan.  These are some captions from my favorites:

This cartoon isn't Libyan, but it easily could be!

Khadija Teri @  http://khadijateri.blogspot.com/2010/08/just-days-away.html

“If you are out in Tripoli for the next few days you’ll notice even more traffic than usual. Everyone is out and about, going to the supermarket to pick up enough food to feed an army. Ramadan is just days away. What am I doing about it? Nothing. The tiny shop near my house has everything we need, there is a small greengrocer stand next to the shop. Hubby will manage to sort out meat for the month.”

Desert Rosehttp://lunahudhud.blogspot.com/2010/08/ramadan-rantings-libyan-style.html

“Ramadan is supposedly the month of forgiveness, good deeds, prayers, soul searching, reciting our beloved Koran ,feeling the hunger of the poor when fasting…

But in Libya, it is a completely different story! It saddens me that when I see crowds of people who shop for an enormous amount of food which will then go to waste due to fasting thus cooking more than required. Household items are bought; from carpets to kitchenware, ovens, refrigerators.”

Tonito @ http://travellingtonito.wordpress.com/2010/08/11/stock-up-its-ramadan-in-libya/

“This Ramadan I suspect will be slightly different. Considering that the amount of expats here is substantially less that in the UAE. Everything really should shut down from before to after Iftar, which means things should shut down from 6pm to around 10pm, which is the only time the non-fasting folks who work with me have time to buy anything. So the key is to stock up!”

On the Edge @ http://on-the-edge-of-something.blogspot.com/2008/08/count-down-to-ramadan.html

“I am hoping that by cooking as much as possible before hand , I won’t be spending ALL my time in the kitchen this year . It remains to be seen and we all know that the road to hell is paved with good intentions huh ?LOL ! Seemed like a good idea at the time . Today I did some more cooking by preparing all the pickled veggies by setting them to start marinating . Tomorrow I hope to finish up with baking the pizzas . I also cooked up the soups too . All this goes into the freezer to be taken out as needed for dinners .”

Do you have anything you’d like to add to that?

Just had to throw this one in! Sometimes the pantry just isn't enough...

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Desert Rose says:

    Ramadan Kareem !
    I thank you for posting and considering my blog one of your favourites .

    Salam

    Desert Rose

  2. Tonito says:

    Glad you enjoyed my take on Ramadan in Libya!🙂

    1. Definitely, love it when I read/hear about other peoples perspectives of life in Libya. It somehow helps me keep my sanity LOL!

Leave a Reply

